Products planning 


From simple to complex, AMT plans to follow the development roadmap (as shown in Table-1) and focus on the three product lines in parallel, i.e. low & medium density product line, high density product line and neuromorphic product line.

 

Table-1: AMT’s Product Planning


Product category

2018/4Q

Standalone Low & medium density PCM products- EEPROM & NOR

 

2019/4Q


Embedded low & medium density PCM products and special PCM products(FPGA/PLD,TCAM, MCU)

2019/4Q

(2D Xpoint)High density PCM products phase Ⅰ

2020

Reconfigurable computing memory

2021

High density PCM products phase Ⅱ (MLC, 3DXpoint) and neuromorphic memory products

 


The following is the product introduction:

Table-2: AMT’s Future Memory Product Introduction

Product category

Product introduction

EEPROM (Electrically Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory)


The typical advantages of EEPROM are non-volatile, erasable and fast programming. It’s not necessary to move program out of EEPROM system such that it is more convenient, more effective, more feasible to store, refresh and program data. EEPROM can be categorized into serial one and parallel one.

1) Serial EEPROM- SPI and IIC types are the most popular ones. They can be applied to all kinds of flexible memory devices to store personal preference data, system calibration and configuration data, and data with high written frequency.

2) Parallel EEPROM- Byte-alterable parallel access memory device with excellent data retention, high quality and manufacturability. It is mainly applied to direct code execution and high reliable data storage applications, such as telecommunication, air electronic equipment and military field.

Initially, AMT will utilize 45nm process to manufacture products of 1M EEPROM with SPI/DPI/QPI interface. After that AMT is going to produce SPI EEPROMs (from 512k to 4M) and IIC EEPROMs (from 512k to 8M).


NOR Flash


NOR flash memory can be used as execute in place (XIP) memory. It has higher efficiency and faster read. It mainly can be used to store programs with the highest cost-performance gain from size 1MB to size 4MB.  

There are two major types of NOR flash, serial and parallel type. Due to shortcomings of low integration and complicated device structure with multiple pins, parallel NOR has been replaced by serial NOR which has high integration and simple device structure with only few pins.


Embedded PCM products of low & medium and special PCM products-

PCRAM,FPGA/PLDTCAM, MCU


- FPGA (Field-Programmable Gate Array). FPGA is suitable for diverse markets, such as telecommunication market, the field of industry control, auto, aerospace, consumer electronics (especially TV), etc. AMT’PCM-based FPGA can save 70% in chip area and power consumption compare to traditional FPGA. AMT plans to enter the 55nm/45nm FPGA market with low & medium gate counts.

- TCAM (Ternary Content-Addressable Memory). TCAM is mainly used for high-speed network router. PCM-based TCAM consists of two transistors and two PCM resistors in each unit. Hence its chip area and power consumption are a quarter of traditional TCAM, which is very expensive.

- MCU (Micro Controller Unit). Embedded memory in MCU can have different applications in different scenarios, for example:

1) ROM/EEPROM is used as non-volatile Bootloader memory.

2) RAM is used as on-chip cache to store running program data

3) Flash(NAND/NOR) is to store data and program

MCU is mainly used in the application fields of consumer electronics, computer, auto electronic and industry control. Auto electronics, industry control and IOT/wearable fields are faster growth MCU markets.


Re-configurable Computing memory


Reconfigurable computing is a research project which was awarded a National Second Prize by Microelectronics Institute of Tsinghua University in China. The project is also supported by Intel. Reconfigurable computing aims at achieving high efficient dynamic reconfigurable computing through hardware & software co-programming. The technology is a breakthrough compared with the traditional model in the sense that it can produce a reconfigurable computing chip based on the basic logic of “circuit follows algorithm change, structure follows application change”. The main idea is to build a connection network of internal parallel processors. In order to achieve a substantial increase in the performance of processor, the connection network can be reconstructed according to needs of data. If a processor of configurable computing uses a nonvolatile memory, it can improve energy efficiency and then solve the problem of huge power consumption in Internet Data Centers (IDCs). AMT has signed a cooperation agreement with Microelectronics Institute of Tsinghua University.

Shutdown management of PE and memory can be achieved by using PCM as part of PE’s memory. When the PE is restored to work, the data and program will not be lost and the operation of data can be maintained. Hence it can largely reduce system energy consumption and promote energy efficiency. 


High density PCM products phase Ⅰ


 - 2DXpoint / PCRAM is based on phase change memory. It’s a nonvolatile random memory. It can replace DRAM because of advantages of low cost, low power consumption and high reliability in future.

High density PCM products phase


Initially, AMT plans to focus on different architecture research of MLC, Cross Point and Process Macro, gradually accomplishing process technology and products functional verification of high density PCM (128Gb/256Gb) beyond 20nm process node.

With accumulated market knowledge and AMT’s production experience of PCM, AMT will enter the field of high density memory (128Gb/256Gb) such as SCM, U disk and SSD with domestic IDM together.

Neuromorphic Memory


PCM-based neuromorphic chip has many advantages such as good fatigue resistance, good data retention, fast erasure, nondestructive read operation, good compatibility with CMOS process. Hence it can achieve functions (e.g. study and memory, etc.) similar to human’s neuromorphic memory network. Neuromorphic chip will be more suitable for multiple applications, such as large data analysis, multi-function sensors (electronic nose), early induction networks, “smart” personal assistant, guide glasses for the blind, self-driving car, auto robots, and so on.

产品规划 Products planning


本着易到难,从简到繁的开发理念,时代全芯制定了公司在中低密度产品, 高密度产品和神经网络智能存储三条产品线的发展策略(如下表1)。

 

1:时代全芯的未来产品规划


产品种类

2018年

中低密度独立型相变产品(EEPROM,NOR)

 

2019年

中低密度嵌入式相变产品和特殊应用相变产品(FPGA/PLD,TCAM,MCU)

2019年

高密度相变产品一期(2D Xpoint)

2020年

推出神经网络测试芯片

2021年

高密度相变产品二期(MLC,3D Xpoint)和神经网络智能存储产品

 

如下是各存储产品的简介:

2: AMT未来存储产品简介

 

产品种类

产品简介

EEPROM(可擦写可编程只读存储器)

EEPROM的典型优点是非易失性、可字节擦除、编程速度快。对 EEPROM 编程无需将EEPROM 从系统中移出,从而使存储和刷新数据(或编程)非常方便、有效、可行。

EEPROM的种类很多,大致可分为串行、并行两类。

1)串行类SPI和IIC类最为热销,适用于各种应用的灵活存储器设备,可存储个人偏好数据、系统校准和配置数据以及高写入次数的数据记录。

2)并行 EEPROM — 可更改字节的并行访问存储器设备,可持久地保存数据,并具有可确保系统品质优异、可制造性强的高级功能,主要应用在直接代码执行和高可靠性数据存储应用,例如电信、航空电子设备和军事等领域。

初期时代全芯利用45nm制造1Mb EEPROM (SPI/DPI/QPI兼容)产品. 中期, 时代全芯将备齐512K到4M的EEPROM SPI产品以及512K到8M 的EEPROM IIC产品

NOR Flash(或非结构闪存存储器)

NOR flash的优点是芯片内执行(XIP,Execute In Place),即应用程序不必再把代码读到系统RAM中,而是可以直接在Flash闪存内运行。NOR 的传输效率很高,读取速度也较快,在1~4MB的小容量时具有很高的成本效益,主要被用来存储程序。

NOR可分为串行和并行类. 并行NOR闪存由于管脚多,集成度低等缺点,已经逐渐被管脚少,集成度高的串行NOR闪存所取代,

中低密度嵌入式相变产品和特殊应用相变产品(PCRAM,FPGA/PLD,TCAM, MCU)

- FPGA(现场可编程门阵列),除了通信市场外, 工业控制、汽车、航空、航天等也广泛使用FPGA。近年来,消费电子(尤其是电视)的发展也进步神速,规格日新月异,FPGA也因获益不少。AMT的基于PCM的FPGA与传统FPGA之比较,芯片面积与功耗可省70%,AMT将从55nm/45nm,中低阶门数(gate count)的产品进入FPGA市场.

- TCAM,即三态内容寻址存储器(Ternary Content-Addressable Memory-TCAM).TCAM主要用于高速网络路由器 (Network router). 因为TCAM芯片价格昂贵,目前只用于高速网络.用PCM技术设计的 TCAM,每单元由两个电晶体及两个PCM电阻形成,芯片面积及耗电量大约为传统 TCAM的四分之一.

- MCU,即微控制单元嵌入式存储.MCU中的嵌入式存储,根据不同的应用场景将如下类型存储器做不同组合,例如:

1) ROM/EEPROM:用于存储掉电不丢失的数据,Bootloader 载体;

2) RAM:运行时的数据存储,片上Cache:

3) 闪存(NAND/NOR): 数据和程序存储;

MCU主要应用在消费电子,计算机,汽车电子和工业控制领域,其中汽车电子,工业控制和物联网/可穿戴成为相对其他应用领域增长较快的MCU应用市场.

可重构计算相变存储器(Reconfigurable Computing)

可重构计算是清华大学微电子所获得国家二等奖的研发项目,此项目也得到了Intel的支持。可重构计算发明了硬件随软件变化而变化、软硬件双编程的高能效动态可重构计算技术,突破了传统的基于硬件进行软件编程的计算模式,实现了“电路跟随算法变、架构跟随应用变”的可重构计算芯片。其主要内容是建立一个计算机内部并行处理器的连线网络。这个连线网络可以根据数据通路的需求被重构,以此达到大幅度提高处理器性能的目的。如果在可重构计算的处理器阵列内部使用非易失存储器,则能够显著提高能量效率,进而解决目前互联网数据中心(Internet Data Center/IDC)大量耗电的问题。AMT已和清华大学微电子所签署在这方面的合作协议。

采用相变存储器,作为PE的局部存储,可以实现对PE及存储的关断管理,当PE恢复工作,之间数据和配置程序不会丢失,可以继续维持数据流图的运算,这可以最大程度上降低系统能耗,提升能量效率

高密度相变产品一期(High Density Memory)

- 2D XPoint,例如PCRAM(相变存储器)是基于相变存储的非易失性随机存储器,由于其成本低、耗电少、可靠性高等优势,未来可取代DRAM.

高密度相变产品二期(High Density Memory)

时代全芯将致力于多单元内存(MLC),交叉点结构(3DX Point),制造工艺区块(Process Macro)不同架构的研究,逐步完成 20纳米以下的大容量PCM存储器(128Gb/256Gb)工艺技术与产品功能性验证.

通过前期市场的认知和积累,以及时代全芯在PCM生产方面的经验和国内IDM一起进军全球128Gb/256Gb大容量存储如SCM,U盘、SSD(固态硬盘)等领域.

神经网络智能存储产品(Neuro-morphic Memory)

神经网络 (Neuromorphic) 芯片应用:相变存储器具有抗疲劳性好、数据保持性好、擦写速度快、非破坏性读操作、与互补金属氧化物半导体(CMOS)工艺兼容性好等优势,能够实现人工神经网络初步类似大脑的学习、记忆等功能,其应用于可见的未来已经确立;神经网络 (Neuromorphic) 芯片将可更适用于大数据分析、多功能感应器 (“电子鼻子”) 、先期感应网络 (保健,警戒,海啸等等)、”智能型”个人助理 (例如Siri, 但有预期/主动功能)、盲人导引眼镱、无人驾驶汽车、自动化机器人等。